Load Development 25-06 berger 115, 26"barrel

Cal1980

Hello guys, I am new to LRH and have been checking out the threads for a long time and it inspired me to rebuild an 1972 savaged passed down from my uncle. After 3 years of saving, reading LRH threads I am finally done, purchased a reloader and trying to develope a load for my rifle. I am shooting a 1972 savage 25-06, 26" krieger eavy sporter 1/10 twist barrel, vias muzzel break. I started with seating just far enough off the lands I couldn't see marks on a smoked bullet. @ 100 yards Using retumbo in .5 grain increments I started with 57.5 grains and stopped with 60.5 grains (no pressure signs). After shooting the test loads I am having trouble determining what load I should focus on because they look similar in group size. This is my 1st time doing any of this and looking for advice from some of you pros on dialing this rifle in.

Thanks,
Caleb

Attachments

• 25-06 retumbo.jpg
    25-06 retumbo.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 248
Welcome to LRH. I have found Retumbo to be a very temperamental powder in several of my rifles. I also think Retumbo is a bit too slow for the '06 sized cases (personal opinion). I use 7828 SSC in my .25-06 AI pushing the 115 Bergers. It seems to be a better suited powder for the '06 based cartridges, from my experiences.

Also, I seat almost all my Berger at .015" off the lands. I get my distance to the lands using a comparator and a cartridge length tool that uses modified case gauges.

Looks like your two top groups have same point of impact with no verticals stringing. I can't read the powered charges but looks like a node to work with. The 60 gr load has some verticals but 60.5 looks like it come together as has some of the same point of impact on vertical as 60. Might be something to work with. I would work with the two top loads and see if you can fine tune. Good problem to have when all groups are looking good