S&W 460V trail gun

Moss

We are headed out west for a few weeks in the early fall. We will visit friends in Idaho and Montana. We will spend several days in Yellowstone and Teton NP's also. I plan to hike and fish both in and out of the parks.

I am from the South and we have very small black bear and the occasional cougar. I usually carry concealed more so for the trespassers than any animal threat. I will be carrying a S&W 460V on this trip.

I'd appreciate any advice on ammo or even handgun recommendations for this trip. I am no expert on larger dangerous game and their habits so that info is appreciated also.

If this is the wrong forum, please move or delete. Thanks>Moss

If a guy ends up needing a revolver to stop a bear attack, S&W 460V that'd be a good one.It can make use of 3 different cartridges, 45 Colt, 454 Casull, 460S&W. HSM has a nice 460S&W load with a 325gr lead gas check, 1,824fps and 2,400 ft lb energy, their Bear Load! Ya probably might not even see a Grizzly but, sleep better at night with good personnel protection in the tent. Have a holster along that works for you, don't even worry about packN along a little extra weight and by God, good luck out West!

We rarely take a pistol for hiking and fishing. Bear spray and good bear country choices to minimize the odds of a bad situation are sufficient for me. Avoid surprising a bear and avoid smelling like an easy meal. Don't cook bacon and toss the grease on the tree next to your tent. We keep everything in ziplock bags within our packs and avoid smelly foods.

The pistol and bear spray both go if I plan to be sneaking around through the brush and packing meat. A bell is added protection if it is going to be dark or you are near a noisy creek.