Should I get a long range shooting or hunting gun or try to balance between the two?

I'm new to this long range shooting world though I have plinked with guns out to 800 yards for years, but with no mathematical precision. I have hunted my whole life and as I am considering purchasing a gun in 7mm PRC for shooting long range. I cannot seem to get over the hump of purchasing a gun exclusively for long range shooting without being able to use it for hunting. Am I crazy to try and find a balance between the two?
This is totally fine in my opinion. I have 1 rifle I train with that is dedicated to long range shooting due to being heavy etc. I have 1 for comps. My hunter will do all of it. It's light, configurable, and accurate.

A hunter here. In my youth (60s…LOL!) I carried hunting rifles 9-10 lbs in the mountains of Colorado. Beat myself up doing so. Jack O'Connor recommended a 7 lb gun for mountain hunting and I agree whole heartedly! I have only shot at antelope over 300 yards, so I don't push my distances. I've taken a reasonable number of game in my time. But the hunt is what it's all about to me. Carrying a light gun just makes the hunt more enjoyable allowing you to cover more distance and be ready for that quick shot.
I bought my granddaughter a Tikka in 7mm-08 and it has worked well for her. It scales just a bit over 7 lbs. It has worked for antelope, mule deer, black bear, and some Texas exotics. Not yet connected on her an elk.

All that said, if you plan for a gun for the family and you aren't reloading yet, a light (7 lbs with scope) in 7mm-08 is a great way to get everyone involved. I would have no qualms taking the biggest bull in the country with an appropriate quality bullet to 4-500 yards. Oh and pretty cheap to shoot as well as easy to find ammo.

What ever gun/cartridge you choose, enjoy being out there with your kids. That's what counts most.