Should I get a long range shooting or hunting gun or try to balance between the two?

ibjsb

I'm new to this long range shooting world though I have plinked with guns out to 800 yards for years, but with no mathematical precision. I have hunted my whole life and as I am considering purchasing a gun in 7mm PRC for shooting long range. I cannot seem to get over the hump of purchasing a gun exclusively for long range shooting without being able to use it for hunting. Am I crazy to try and find a balance between the two?

Are you crazy, no. I got a rifle to start hunting at long range, then I got some to shoot long range, then a few more to hunt at long range...it's a vicious cycle. If you build a quality rifle for hunting, you will be able to shoot it much further than you would likely attempt a hunting shot with it. I shoot long range with most of my rifles but usually only shoot one round on the hunts I am on. You can find a balance but your first rifle may not be your last.

Are you crazy, no. I got a rifle to start hunting at long range, then I got some to shoot long range, then a few more to hunt at long range...it's a vicious cycle. If you build a quality rifle for hunting, you will be able to shoot it much further than you would likely attempt a hunting shot with it. I shoot long range with most of my rifles but usually only shoot one round on the hunts I am on. You can find a balance but your first rifle may not be your last.
That seems to be the case with every hobby, doesn't it!?

You've received some very good responses.

It's purely subjective - your needs, your wants, your capabilities …. and your financials.

Most of us have differing ideas of what long range hunting is.