Elk tags

Blackdirt Cowboy

I finally convinced my wife to let me start applying for elk tags this next year. I've been researching it quite a bit and have a few questions for y'all.

First off, I have zero points. My goal is to go hunt a trophy animal. This hunt will more than likely be a once in a lifetime hunt and I'm willing to wait 5-10 plus years to draw a tag. I started researching state deadlines, fees, hunting licenses, etc., and that's all pretty straight forward. The problem is that I have zero experience hunting out west. If I plan to apply for these tags on my own, how do I go about choosing which units to apply in?

I came across a tag consulting firm called the draw and had a good conversation with Frank over there. He laid out a state by state plan for me to apply for tags. Now I need to determine if it's worth it to pay them to do all the applying for me. The best I can tell, the main advantage to doing that is not accidentally missing a deadline. The other big advantage I see is having someone with experience guide you in choosing your units to apply for.

What would y'all do if you were in my shoes? Their fee for my plan would be about $450 on top of the $540 state fees. That's a fair amount of money I could save, but I wonder if it's worth it to have them help me with the process. Let me know y'alls thoughts.

Its easy to do yourself. Also you can subscribe to something like HF, Epic, or GH for $100 a year. They all will post deadlines, point out trophy units, and help you get info on the unit if you draw.

Now the bad news. I don't know of a state that you can start applying in right now to build points and expect to draw a trophy tag in 5-10 years. Some states are preference, some are hybrid, and some are bonus. If you are looking to hunt a true trophy elk then your chances after 10 years of applying will still be below 1% I bet.