Bushing Dies

ishootkittens

Hey guys, been a minute. Hope everyone is doing okay. I just finished my 6.5 wsm build and my headspace gauges are in the mail. One thing I haven't purchased yet, is the correct dies.

I think this time around I'm going to try some Redding bushing dies. It's a bit simpler that way as I THINK I can just get 270 wsm dies and change out the bushing. I'm not exactly sure how the dies work as I am new to them. How do I know exactly what bushing to purchase. If I were to show you guys a copy of the reamer dimension drawing, could you guys help me?

Thanks

Normally you would measure a loaded round at the neck and subtract .002. This can be a problem if you dont have standard dies to load a dummy round. You can measure your your brass neck then add the bullet diameter. However to measure accurately you need a ball micrometer. So if your brass was .014 at the neck that would be .014+.014 +.264= .292. In that case you would need a .290 bushing for .002 " neck tension".

Another option is to buy a forster full length die and load some ammo. After it's loaded you can measure your ammo and send the die to forster. For 15 bucks they will hone the die to your specs. I think they recommend .003-.004 under. You can also use the honed die with an expander mandrel die to expand the neck instead of using the button that comes with the die. For hunting purposes you can load some really straight ammo with a honed die setup where your expander is just barely doing any work. The downside to this is if you change brass with different neck thickness it will affect your sizing.

Hey guys, been a minute. Hope everyone is doing okay. I just finished my 6.5 wsm build and my headspace gauges are in the mail. One thing I haven't purchased yet, is the correct dies.