Lower velocity 375 bullet recommendation

marksman1941

I recently built a 375/308 and have been smitten by it. It's just flat cool. I'm new to anything large bore, and am realizing that the bullet choices are fairly minimal. A lot of the forum posts I dredge up quote bullets that arent Produced anymore which is tough.

My goal for the rifle is a close range black bear stomper, so I'd like a bullet that will hold together on a bear skull at point blank range (prep for the worst). The rifle currently shoots 270gr speer btsp at 2300fps, but everything I have read says the btsp is pretty soft to expect it to hold up to that. The 300gr bullets are pretty slow out of those setup, so 270 is the max I'd like to go.

It seems current production options are;
270 speer btsp, Hornady spire point, Barnes TSX
260gr nosler e tip, partition (impossible to find)
250gr Hornady CX, Sierra gameking, Barnes TTSX, swift a frame
235gr speer hotcor, Barnes tsx
200gr Sierra prohunter

Any suggestion on the best bullet for this application? I'll probably take a few deer with the Speer load I have just for kicks, but I don't have much experience with the bigger bullets at close range.

I shot the .375 JDJ in an Encore for awhile, I can tell you the 270 grain Speer will shed jackets. However, I'm sure it'll still kill both BB and deer easily. I settled on the 260 grain NAB with that rifle. However, I shot enough of the Hornady 270 grain that I'd not hesitate to use it.

If I could find the 260 AB that seems like the bees knees for an all arounder. I could likely get it up to 2350-2400 at the muzzle.

Did you shoot any game with the Hornady 270? Those shot well for me too, and I have no problem swapping from the Speer (or using Speer for practice/blacktail only)