7mm stw grizzly load

Joe Kondelis

Hey guys. I'll be hunting interior grizz in Alaska this fall. They are North Slope bears so not giants. I do a ton of bear black bear hunting in lower 48 and my 160 grain accubond out of my stw do the trick. im thinking of loading a 175 eldx or 180 grain Berger but just curious what you guys think would be best round for grizz. I'm pretty new to reloading so sorry for sounding clueless.

I'm with Harperc,but I,d add the 160 partition to the list as well as the 175 Speer GrandSlam ,if your wanting more speed consider the Barnes ttsx in 150 grains , Welcome to the forum Joe K !!! & have a Great hunt !,Cheers .

I'm a huge Berger fan and only recently started messing with the Hornady ELD line but for bear I shoot nothing but Nosler Partitions, and it's probably all I'll ever shoot because I have a huge stock pile of 210 and 250's for my 340 Weebee that Bob Hagel built in 1967. The other options Harper mentioned I'd definitely consider along with the partitions if I were you.

I have a pretty good network of guides in Alaska. Actually talked to several last week, we were all in Seattle loading containers bound for Alaska. Following up on last season; Swift A frames followed by Nosler Partitions are the most highly regarded amongst the guides I know. Been that way for as long as I've been fascinated by the subject. Several have a dim view of the monos, typically boils down to a single bad experience.

I black bear hunt in Maine, over bait so close shots. I use a 35 Whelen with