7 WSM or 7RM

Ksmirk

Ok folks I've been beating this dang thing around for a long time and I have gotten many different reports! imagine that huh? What I am looking to do is put the hurt on a steel plate at 1760 yards! simple not going to be hunting with the rifle if so it might be some of these little Okie deer and I'm sure a p-dog, I have been told everything from 50BMG, 338 Edge (I still want this one!) and a 7WSM my thing is crunching the data it looks like the 7WSM will go subsonic before it gets to 1760 with a 180 Berger so what would be wrong with just going with a 7RM? looks like it should stay supersonic well past the 1760. I ask you guys cause there are a few of ya that know what would work out so I'm asking what you think?

This will be on a Savage action so I'll have the Edge but not right now, need to have easy access to brass, does not take a pound of powder, something the everyday Joe can afford to shoot if that makes sense? Later,

Kirk

I'm no expert on either cartidge, but I did some searching on hodgon's site and it seems both the rem mag and the wsm have very similar performances and neither would have the advantage. BUT, the WSM in a short action would have a major disadvantage because you would be forced to use up much case capacity. However, I think you would also be seating the rem mag fairly deep too. Just on basis of theory, I'd look into doing a WSM on a long action designed to seat far far out of the case with the 180's. According to the reloading info, You should be able to get close to if not past 2800 fps and JBM calc says it will stay supersonic to just past 1 mile with a VLD berger 180.

Here is my take....FWIW
First of all Do you mean the 7 RUM?
The RM is going to give you the same (basically) performance as the WSM. The RM will not be supersonic any longer than the WSM.