260 Rem bullet recommendation

wff68197

I recently picked up two new 260 Rem rifles and hoping someone can help with a bullet recommendations for both. I am new to the 6.5mm so have none on the shelf to start with. I've already picked up brass and have a good bit of 4350 powder I plan on starting with. Any recommendations are appreciated.

The first rifle is a heavy 26" barrel 1 in 8 twist that I will only use only on the rifle range. Looking for something to shoot paper out to 700 yards. My main concern with this rifle is only accuracy. I was looking at the hornady 140gr sst, but open to any suggestions.

The second is a hunting rifle with a 22" barrel that is also 1 in 8 twist. This rifle will only be used in whitetail and occasional varmint hunting with ranges out to 400 yards. Most of my hunting rifles I shoot in 30 cal are primarily barnes ttsx. Should I stick with the barnes in the 6.5mm or any other suggestions?

So far my best results have been with Hornady 140 grain AMAX. I've also used 123 Lapua with good results but not as good as the AMAX.

So far my best results have been with Hornady 140 grain AMAX. I've also used 123 Lapua with good results but not as good as the AMAX.

+1 the A-MAXs are very good bullets. They have higher BCs than the SSTs and the 123gr A-MAX or 140gr A-MAX would be excellent options.

I am currently on my fourth 260 rem, all customs, all heavy barrel target rifles. The 139 Scenars from Lapua are superb, high BC, very consistent bullet. No trouble getting them into the 2750 range with a reasonably warm load of H4831SC in my rifles. Lately I have been trying the 142 VLD from Matrix Ballistics and so far I am impressed, I haven't run through a full box yet so I will reserve judgement for a later date but they are performing as well as the Scenars out to 200 yards. I will get them out to 500 by the end of this month and will let you know.