Was the 6.5 cm really a necessity?

I've never shot hogs but I'm guessing the fact that people hate them means they are far less concerned about making quick kills/recovering them and 223 ammo is dirt cheap.

Rich, thanks for sharing your testing. I will say I'm impressed with some of those comparisons though it doesn't account for some other concerns like the amount of energy transferred into the animal or the wound channel.

We've hijacked this thread enough. I think we know where everyone stands.
A whole lot more baseless assuming.

Trying to walk away here but you keep pulling back in.

Fine.

Baseless? If you're talking about pigs it's more of an educated guess. I have a lot of experience with deer and everyone says pigs are tougher so...

If your are referring to energy transfer and wound channels, I'll explain.

-If you use a frangible bullet it's going to blow up. Obvious disaster.
-If you use a more stout bullet that passes through, you limit the wound channel and energy transfer. I grew up in an part of WI that was shotgun only. We made deer drives and shot running deer with less than ideal firearms. This was before most had rifled barrels and better ammo. I got a lot of experience with wounded deer. Many ran a long way with more than one hole all the way through them. There was plenty of penetration. But you may as well have run a javelin through a lot of them. And some of these were decent shots too. I miss the community aspects of this hunting but not the tracking and inefficient kills. Sure, head, spine, heart and they were done fast, but they could make it a long way if you just clipped one lung.

If you can show me something other than anecdotal evidence that any .22 gives adequate margin for error I'm happy to listen. I just don't think that milk jug penetration tells the hole story. Pun intended.

Here's some good reading I agree with.

https://www.ballisticstudies.com/Knowledgebase/.22-250.html