Thoughts on a 7x300 wm?

Anyone built one? Is it worth it? Looking for something with a little more umpf than the 7mag. And I love my 7mag.
I've been running the 7 Mashburn Super for 3 decades. A wildcat from the 50's/60's. I use 300 WM cases as a base.

For me it's worth it as I get the speeds I like without pounding the dog poop out of the cases/gun etc.

IMO it's a heck or a round and gives me what I want in a long range kill on demand kind of round.

Side note, I've gone thru multiple barrels, round count is generally in the 2K-2500 range. For something that I'm running 71 grains of powder thru with a 150 NBT I'm quite happy with this round count.

Normally around 1700 rounds the barrel begins to foul a bit, and shortly after I chase the lands a bit until I give up the ghost with it. (side note, I detest cleaning barrels and for darn sure barrels that foul...)

Last edited:
..unless you got a stack of .284 barrels I'd stear clear of this one..seems like a bit much powder to be burned for very little gain in a hunting length barrel...but if you got some extra $$$$ laying around, have at it....buy an extra set of muffs, I sat next to a guy during a benchrest competition and my ears rang for 6 months while wearing muffs and ear plugs..loudest cartridge I ever heard..

If you have the option I would have a 26” barrel for it.
I have wanted one for a while now and just haven’t been able to get it done.
I ended going the next step up with the 7STW which I love.
I love my 7RM’s as well but the STW is a beast

I've been running the 7 Mashburn Super for 3 decades. A wildcat from the 50's/60's. I use 300 WM cases as a base.

For me it's worth it as I get the speeds I like without pounding the dog poop out of the cases/gun etc.

IMO it's a heck or a round and gives me what I want in a long range kill on demand kind of round.