Scope selection for Savage 110 ba lapua .338. Leupold vs nightforce? HELP!

cirionrc

Scope selection for Savage 110 ba lapua .338. Leupold vs nightforce? HELP!

Starting competition 2 year class all the way from safety, scoping, cleaning, ranging, shooting, and reloading and need a setup to get started. Got the savage 338 lapua already and the reloader, brass, bullets, powder, primers, Everything but the scope and rings. Gonna be shooting 800 to 2000 yards. I was looking at the leupold mark 4 er/t (Leupold 110083 MK4*ERT M5 8.5-25X50 FFP Mil Dot) or nighforce nxs 5.5x22x50 mildot. I know you gonna say nightforce. I agree BUT:

The nightforce is second focal plane which I am a beginner for long range shooting. Don't know how difficult the second focal place is, but also considered the nightforce atacr if I am going sfp.

The nightforce beast is ffp, but its also $3200, so which made me think back to the leupold mark 4. Its ffp. I JUST WANT A GOOD SCOPE THAT WILL KEEP ZERO AND IS CLEAR. Dont want to run into problems and don't want to end up having to buy another scope or different rings, but willing to spend up to $2300 but would consider $3200 - but REALLY REALLY trying to avoid that. Will a leupold be a reliable scope? Everyone says NF has best quality, but I would think a leupold would be very quality built as well. Do leupolds break

Also, mil dot / mil rad. / MOA. What is the easiest reticle to use? Actual Item: nxs NIGHTFORCE NXS 5.5-22x50 Mil-Dot C196 - Mil-Dot Reticle - High Speed .1 MRAD Turrets

The mrad refers to the turret right. 10 clicks for 1 mil dot?

Also I don't want to run into any problems for elevation such as having to shim the rail...Would the burris signature (Burris 30mm Xtreme Tactical Picatinny-Style Rings Matte Medium Package of 2 ) be the lowest rings I can use with either of these scopes? Any other suggestions?