HELP... Shots dropping off more than expected. Remington 700 .308 Hunting Rifle

BHINES1216

I'm getting ready to head out to Nebraska in a month for Mule Deer and went to the range a few times this past week an noticed that when zeroed at 100yrd, I'm getting a 7.5" drop on 200yrd shots. This seems like much more than I should expect given my research. The gun is a Remington 700 .308. I am shooting Federal Fusion Soft Point 150 Gr. There was no wind, elevation 750 and temp of 55 degrees. Scope height is 2". I am not a beginner when it comes to hunting, but have not had the need to really dial in a rifle for longer distances until now. Any input would be appreciated. I am curious if copper fouling could have anything to do with this. Thanks in advance!

but have not had the need to really dial in a rifle for longer distances until now. Any input would be appreciated. I am curious if copper fouling could have anything to do with this. Thanks in advance!

There is no research. Given the information you provided, which is not really useful for your particular question, this might be chalked up to how you'd rifle shoots….

…we really need is your actual muzzle velocity..? If you don't know, what does the box say and what length barrel do you have?

Now, as to cooper fouling…copper fouling actually makes the velocity go faster. Usually. When a barrel is new, it fouls with copper, and makes the barrel diameter smaller, which in turn creates more pressure. On a small scale. Some say it lubricates the barrel. Point is, after 200 rounds or so, MV tends to plateau for awhile. That would make your POI higher actually.

If it was a problem with your barrel, it would mean you burned it out. As a guy who's burned out .308s before…you'd have to have shot 4-6k rounds through it…
Have you shot that many rounds through it?