Barrel Length 300 Ultra

billinpa

Hi guys. I am a newbie to this site. I have been reading the posts for a week or so and am very pleased by what I have seen. Lots of very good information for not only the new guys ( and gals ) but also for the "pros". Ok to my question. I have been going long range hunting with a buddy and his dad a couple of times a year for the past several years and realy enjoy it. I have been shooting "chucks" out to 400-500 yds for the last several years with a heavy barrel 22-250 and have become quite confident at those ranges. I have a 300 win that I can shoot 1/4-1/2" groups with at 200yds ( farthest shot on the range I shoot at ). I have decided to take the "plunge" and build a long range gun for deer hunting with here in PA and for possibly taking out west on our yearly trips for elk.

I was leaning towards a 7-300 Wby but I have decided on a 300 Ultra with an HV barrel with a 10 twist and varmint style stock. I am going with the Rem 700 action. Which is what the guys I have gone with recomend and from what I've seen and read is a good action. Going for the leupold 6.5-20 LR scope. The thing I can't decide on is what length barrel to go with. I have been thinking 30-32" so I can keep the weight to a reasonable limit. I am going to have Howard Wolfe build the gun ( I hope )so I am sure he would have a good idea but I though I'd run it by you guys also.

Also if anyone knows where I can get my hands on a Barr & Stroud rangefinder please let me know. I'm having a VERY hard time finding one.

Thanks and good shooting
Bill

[ 02-01-2003: Message edited by: billinpa ]

Hello Bill and welcome

Your on the right track as I have had a few 7/300 Weatherby's and several different chamberings of 30 cals over the years. Many of them chambered by Howard Wolfe.

All of them had at least 30" and 32" barrels and performed very well.

With the large selection of bullets in the 308 Bore diameters I think you have made a very good decision.