Where would you go for a last minute OTC elk hunt.

atl5029

Hi guys. I'm a total noob when it comes to elk hunting, so please help me out.

Earlier this year, a group of friends and I were planning a Colorado elk hunt out of his cabin that backs up to Roosevelt National Forest. We had it mostly planned out, and then for various reasons, all but I had to back out. Now just recently, some other friends have said they're in for going out west this year, but obviously it's waaaaay late in the game for planning a hunt.

So I ask, if you experienced elk hunters had to plan a last minute elk hunt on an OTC tag, how would you go about it? Here is what we are looking for:

All have us have years of experience hunting white tails and bears in the east and midwest, but all of us are new to hunting the west, so we're looking more for a great experience than a successful hunt. Just locating and seeing some elk would be a success, putting a stalk on one would be exceptional, and killing one would just be icing on the cake.

We are looking for a state with OTC tags for units with ample public land. We're considering Colorado 2nd or 3rd season as a likely first choice, but also Wyoming, Montana, Utah, and Idaho if opportunities are somehow better. We'd also consider a mule deer tag in place of an elk tag if they are more plentiful.

In no way are we after a trophy. Meat is the #1 concern. So we're not above cow or spike tags.

We're all age 29-32, so an easy hunt is by no means needed. We're no strangers to rough country, long packs in, and climbing mountains. We're ready to hunt hard.

We are not looking to necessarily long range either. We plan on glassing for elk and then spot and stalk hunt. We have some long range deer rifles, but nothing suitable for long range shots on elk. Between us we'll likely have 30-06s, 308s, and a 35 Whelen and keeping shots less than 500 yards for sure.