Watching you LR hunters

nomadhunter

So, I pay close attention to various LR hunting shows on my favorite Outdoor channel and Sportsman channel; along with this site and I am learning some things. It's a pleasure watching and reading about the success in the field.
So, I am new to LR; I read a current post about anti - canting devices and the treads that follow the post and it all makes sense.
With that stated, I watched more than a few well experienced Ultra LR hunters using field type rifle rests (pods or rest of some sort) for shots as close to 200 yards-really? honestly, how humble, truly.
I, up to this point in my hunting years, have been a short range kind of hunter (up to 200) and fill my tags. Now, from the woods to the open high desert I go, hence my interest in extending my range, say, 500 yards - max for starts.
My experience eye balling deer, in the high desert, at LR, is that they're reasonably unaware or concerned about my presence until I get to about 300 yards, then they boogie.
So, I suppose a pod/shooting rest is in order up to and beyond 300 yards, but what is the best one for portage and ease of set - up; that is durable and light weight, since I am an off road, spot and stalk kind of hunter.
Any suggestions is appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

My favorite long range rest is simply my pack. I shoot very well using it & last fall I killed my best typical mulie of my life using it. 587 yard shot & killed him in his bed. He was a 4x5 that scored 180.
also killed a bunch of far away coyotes in that fashion. Bipods also work very well. I just like shooting from my pack.
Thanks, Kirk

My favorite long range rest is simply my pack. I shoot very well using it & last fall I killed my best typical mulie of my life using it. 587 yard shot & killed him in his bed. He was a 4x5 that scored 180.
also killed a bunch of far away coyotes in that fashion. Bipods also work very well. I just like shooting from my pack.
Thanks, Kirk