Thoughts on Alpine Optics

HamiltonIV

Hello, new member here, thanks for all the great info.

I won an Alpine Kodiak 3-9x scope at an auction a while back and finally got around to mounting it on my Winchester Model 70 XTR Sporter 30/06. I am able to shoot decent groups with it but every time I try to adjust it to bring it to center, the point of impact jumps way farther than the attempted adjustment. Sometimes off the paper! My buddies tell me to take a sawzall to it and throw it in the trash, is there really no hope for this scope?

Thanks in advance

Yeah, if everything else is in working order. And it goes off paper, it's probably trash. Looking online I found similar models and it looks like it's in the $100 range. That's asking a lot from a $100 optic on a pretty light, hard recoiling rifle.

Okay, so I will be replacing the Alpine scope, what would be a good replacement? I am new to big game hunting but I've been a lifelong bird hunter. Several friends have convinced me to take up deer hunting, so I am going to give it a go. We live in So Cal, and I will be hunting in the Mojave National Preserve. I will be using my Winchester Model 70 XTR Sporter 30/06 at ranges up to 300 yards. I see all kinds of features and options but I'm not really sure if they are useful in the field...

I didn't get drawn this year so I have some time to make a decision, I would appreciate any advice you could offer.

How much do you want to spend is the big question? For your hunting needs I'd look at traditional 3-9X40 scopes like the Burris Fullfield II/E1, Bushnell Elite/3200, Leupold Freedom/VX-II/VX2, Zeiss Conquest/Terra, or Swarovski Z3. Just keep it simple with a duplex reticle or ballistic reticle like the Burris Ballstiplex or Leupold Long Range Duplex. At 300 yards you will not need much bullet drop compensation with a .30-06.