rebarreling a mauser

jeffer

I've received an old mauser in 7 x 57 which is a good round but I'm covered in that area . I'm thinking about rebarrelling it to a 220 swift because I've always wanted one, is there any issues with this idea?
and if not what is a good recommendation for a barrel maker?

Attachments

• 20230803_222533.jpg
    20230803_222533.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 290
I forsee no issues with your desired conversion assuming you'll be using the original bottom metal, but cartridge feeding issues are common and may require a good GS to help you sort them out. McGowen can supply you with a pre-fit custom barrel or you can send them your rifle and they'll send you back a very nicely finished package. There are others that offer similar services and do very good work. I'm a do-it-yourselfer Mauser hobbyist, I use McGowen to spin a barrel to my spec and have not been disappointed yet - 4 project rifles with their barrels that shoot 1/2" groups with reloads. I appreciate their work and customer service. Hopefully the other Mauser loonies will find this thread and chime in.

I've received an old mauser in 7 x 57 which is a good round but I'm covered in that area . I'm thinking about rebarrelling it to a 220 swift because I've always wanted one, is there any issues with this idea?
and if not what is a good recommendation for a barrel maker?
Is it a small ring mauser? Is it a 98 large ring is it a commercial or military mauser? 220 Swift pressures top out at 62K PSI so well beyond what a small ring or military 98 mauser specs. I'd verify with a gunsmith. I'm not a gunsmith, but I play one on tv.

I agree with Akleyfan and xsn10s statements. PacNor here in Oregon has done a couple Mausers and a WW1 Steyr for me. Each time they did a metallurgy test to assure the relics were good to go. Accurate barrels, nice clean work. I had them Cerakote to help clean up the old finish.