Phoenix smith/machinist recommendations

Shorten the bolt? Not sure what you mean? Or why?

Phoenix Custom Rifles or Axisworks are the two gunsmiths I use in Phoenix (Tempe actually). They have built me 7 rifles altogether so far.

The gap between the rear baffle and the receiver is great enough that the primary extraction can't do it's job. Tried shims, they fall off. Baffle too hard for me to drill, so no screws will work. Silver soldering MIGHT work, but that is hot enough it may anneal the baffle. Could set the barrel back, but that is months out. Shortening the bolt body seems like the easiest, permanent solution. I'm not the first to experience this. He'll, I ain't smart enough to have thought this up. I've read about it from many folks on this site, who I have a degree of trust in, and on other sites as well. Sooo, I'm gonna give it a try. What's the worst that could happen ? Thanks lancetkenyon. I'll post results afterwards.

lol
FIX THE PROBLEM not the symptom.
why is the extractor not working
( that gap is pretty normal)