bedding a 33 inch barrelled rifle properly

wildcat westerner

Hello,
Recently I acquired a 33 inch barrel , unchambered, in .338 caliber.1-10 twist It is a full length bull barrel of 1 1/2" in diameter with no taper. I have done some Quikload research and received help from others, to find that in using 200-250 grain bullets in a .338 Winchester magnum cartridge I can achieve near 338 EDGE velocities with from 19% to 23% less powder. These ballistics seem impressive to me, especially with 4 different powders.
I have a Master Class benchrest stock with a long forend for this rifle, which is presently bedded for a Stolle Panda action.
In placing a yardstick in the barrel channel I find the barrel and muzzlebrake extend more than 24 inches in front of the stock. Lord, it seems to run on forever!
I understand enough applied physics that I know no action could stand the stresses produced on the action screws by this huge barrel, that I know of, or wish to buy.
I looked at the barrel channel and find its 1 /2" wide. The easy answer of a barrel bedding block is out since the stock is not wide enough to accept a bedding block. I had the stock, trigger, scope and mounts when the opportunity came to purchase this large barrel.
So, from a practical standpoint would it make sense to bed the barrel where it fits in the stock for 12" and "free float" the action? There are stresses here I have never dealt with. Also, the barrel will be bedded for 1/3 of its total length and how might that affect the vibration node? I am doing this because the winds really move around my lighter 6.5 bullets laterally here in the high altitude of the Rockies.

Call Alex Sitman at Masterclass Stocks and ask him. He is very knowledgeable.

My own sense is to pillar bed the action and not to bed under the barrel.