6mm Arc for deer

sdakotaguy

6mm Arc has not been out there for very long in the big picture. Yet I am interested how this chambering is being received as a deer hunting option. I have been utilizing the cartridge in a 22" barrel CZ 527 for 3 years now. Five deer taken from 100 yards to 254 yards with none traveling over 80 yards after the shot & the average being a bit less than 50 yards. First deer was taken with a 108 grain cup & core Elite Hunter. Second & third deer were taken with 87 grain Absolute Hammer. Fourth & Fifth deer the 90 Grain Hornady CX was put to use.

My findings is like anything, shot placement has everything to do with distance covered after the shot. Two of these deer were dead on the spot with a CNS system shot placement. The remaining 3 were taken with a broadside heart, lung shot & they covered closer to 80 yards before piling up after the shot.

Near as I can tell most deer are still taken inside of 120 yards. Seems to me the the 6mm ARC is up to the task of harvesting deer for most of our scenarios. Anyone else here using or considering the 6mm ARC for deer hunting?

Last edited:
As for twist rate, standard twist rate for 6mm ARC is 1 in 7.5 inches. Standard factory Ammo runs103 gr ELDX, 105 gr BTHP & 108 grain ELD. so the standard 6mm ARC is throated for longer bullets. Although cartridge OAL is generally limited to 2.250 ish for most magazine lengths. Understand exceptions do exist for magazine length.

6 ARC is a great round! Nice thing is more and more factory options are popping up lately. I had planned to use my 6 ARC for antelope hunting last fall, but couldn't get an acceptable accurate load with the 75 gr Hammer HHT prior to my hunt. Use the right bullet and put it in the right spot and it will definitely do the trick.

I like the 6 mm ARC, I have two ARs with Proof SS barrels they are accurate...not so with the BA barrel.