Your experience with Browning Rifles

matt_3479

I use to think Browning was one of the best factory rifles you could get. not the best but a really good rifle. then for a few years i read a lot of things saying that people haven't always had good results with accuracy in terms of browning.

I have had 2 experiences with Brownings A-Bolts; 300. wsm that i own which is holding way better then 1 inch at 100 yards, and a 223 rem that my buddy owns which is also a very accurate rifle. The reason i ask is because this year we are doing an elk, deer combo hunt in Montana and my brother is selling his 30-06 and buying a 300. win mag. He has always had something for browning and wants to get either an A-Bolt or X-Bolt 300. win mag. What is your opinion on the Browning rifles for accuracy

I am no expert, but I think they are a lot like any other rifle, hit or miss. I have owned about six or seven browning bolt actions, and I say for the money, they are a descent rifle.

I have a 325 wsm abolt, and it holds 1 moa, I dont have it set for much over 600 currently. There is not much for aftermarket, like stocks,triggers, and I guess some smiths dont like to rebarrel. But my rife is a nice packer at 7-6oz w/4-14 scope

I have an X Bolt in 300 WinMag that I got late last year. Have only tried it with one factory load which is Nosler TG with 180 AB. It shoots 3/4" @ 100 yds and carries that same moa out to 500 yds with that round so I just stopped right there. Someday when time allows I'll see if it will do any better with handloads.
I carried it hunting for about 1 hour this fall and shot a real nice 5x5 elk so you can say I'm happy so far.:)