Newbie looking for advice

eglassy88

Hey Everyone,

Long time hunter - never hunted anything past 100ish yards. I'm hunting a new property this year that is wide open and I'll be able to shoot very far distances. I've always zeroed my reticle at 100 yards so I don't know much about reticle hash marks and shooting at further distances. I have a NightForce scope and Im trying to figure out how much drop there is between hash marks on my scope so I can shoot further distances. Can someone point me to an article or video that will help with this? Again, I have no experience shooting long distance but im very excited to learn!

Welcome! Sounds like you'll get a chance to 'learn' your rifle and scope at some longer distances. It's good you are looking into it now, so you'll have some time to practice and do some longer range shooting before hunting season.

People are going to need to know which MODEL Nightforce scope you have in order to give you 'good' info. In the meantime, you can go here and find your scope and then click on the PDF links they have to get more info on that scope's reticle.
http://nightforceoptics.com/reticles

Welcome! Sounds like you'll get a chance to 'learn' your rifle and scope at some longer distances. It's good you are looking into it now, so you'll have some time to practice and do some longer range shooting before hunting season.

People are going to need to know which MODEL Nightforce scope you have in order to give you 'good' info. In the meantime, you can go here and find your scope and then click on the PDF links they have to get more info on that scope's reticle.
http://nightforceoptics.com/reticles

You will HAVE to know the velocity the rifle is shooting the projectile you have chosen so the hash marks in the scope can correlate to a point of impact. Which means, running the FPS and projectile information into a ballistic calculator and finding out the MOA equivalent for the yardage to be shot at.