new to the 7mm stw

rem22-243

Hey guys I'm new to the 7mm stw. I just ordered a select match shilen barrel putting in on a 700 stainless action.

Was going to see what information I could get out of you guys as far as reloading and velocities.

I'm mainly going to be deer hunting with It i don't want to go any heavier than 140 grain bullets. I bought some 120 Barnes ttsx, 130 Sierra match kings, speer 130 grain, 140 Sierra hpbt gameking.
Just curious what powders ya guys use

Appreciate all the help

Mudrunner2005 will likely say 7828sc with a 168-180 grain pill...
I'll give my .02 also... I've been using 82 rl25 with a 140 nos ab for two rifles now; the last rifle was about 3400 fps with rl25 and the 140ab... the new rifle hasn't been over a chrono I trust yet. My pops is running the 140 sierra pro hunter with enough rl22 to pass 3300 fps by a good bit.
If you don't work the heck out of your rifle it will last a lot better than if you squeeze it for the last few fps of course, so we don't push much over 60 kpsi with our rifles. The 7stw will not show brass distress (shiners on the head/ loose pockets) until well over 70 kpsi so watch for heavier bolt lift first. The shoe test is appropriate here; if you couldn't open the bolt with a tap from your shoe, the load is too hot. Logical max speeds for an stw are roughly 3600 fps for a 120, 3400 fps for a 140, and 3050 fps for a 175-180.

Lefty has been around me too long. :D

I am a fan of using heavy-for-caliber bullets in almost all calibers. Some folks like lazer beams with lighter bullets and massive velocity, and there's nothing wrong with that either. I just prefer the 180's in my STW's. Plus I'm shooting true 1/2" 5-shot groups at 100, so I know I'm good to 1K and beyond...If it ain't broke, don't fix it. :cool:

The place I hunt their could be many shots from 800 to 1000+ and from what I read this is the round to do it. I'm just not sure of the lighter bullets are going to do that for me?