My budget quasi custom 260 AI build.

xsn10s

On one thread someone mentioned they were treated poorly because of a budget build. I've been piecing together this budget build for six years. A Remington 700 SA from the 80's I got on a trade, it was my burned out 22-250. A Rock Creek 5R 260 AI barrel used with 300 rounds down the tube. A 60 MOA NF base that was discontinued and sold cheap on ebay. SWFA rings from their used site. And a SWFA 10X Milquad side focus also from the used site. I got the barrel and realized the threads were cut for a blue printed action and were too large in diameter. A friend cut the threads down and checked headspace with the PTG .250 recoil lug I ordered. I compared the two barrels and figured a .250" lug would get me close in headspace and I got lucky. It was .001" within ideal. However the plant manager suggested to my buddy to lap the recoil lugs since there was some galling. I had done it once prior but very lightly as to not change the headspace much. I didn't feel much scrubbing on the virgin brass so the chamber might be a bit long, no biggie I fire formed my brass by jamming into the lands. There wasn't any load data that I found using the components I had so I researched and used my best judgement. I found 43.0 gr Ramshot Hunter and 45.5 gr with a 145 Match Burner (damaged during shipping) to be reasonably accurate with no pressure signs. The 2740 fps is my fire form load. I took it to 1770 yards last week and was low by 1.5 mils. I'll do more shooting when the dirt is drier as dust signatures were very hard to spot, and driving in blm lands was dangerous lol. The last group size should be .296" lol.
328138111_1318482265653996_5184615268212147633_n.jpg
327964139_550224347039584_6721950372063524459_n.jpg
330542701_918231312950856_7904583594275501063_n.jpg
330596816_598296508765023_4020428736857855322_n.jpg

Last edited: