Blackpilled by Hornaday #50, #52 - Statistics with Ontarget TDS and Taran

btuley

Friends,

I was black pilled by the "Your Groups are Two Small Hornaday" podcast series. I have a long set of notes on their points and how they relate to at least my reloading journey (I'm a beginner). For this post, it suffices to say that I'm looking at inferential statistical methods to tell two different reloading treatments apart from each other with the minimum required shots. Essentially proposing the statistical question in the language of stats Ho = Reloading method A results in the same dispersion as Reloading Method B. Ha = Reloading Method A results in a different dispersion from Reloading Method B. P value is, say, 0.05.

Unfortunately, after their black pill podcasts the team didn't leave us in a better place than "just shoot dozens of shots for each load, and only try a few different loads" (a few powder and bullet combinations). Statistics is a powerful tool for measuring and quantifying the difference between two different treatments, such as two different seating depths etc. maximizing what we can confidently say from the data available.

I'm interested in a separate conversation about what figure of merit is the best to use to measure differences in reloading treatments, whether it's radius, x and/or y variance, Circular Error Probable, Weapons Employment Zone, or what if anyone wants to start that conversation (or point me to one here). But for the moment I was looking at the variance of the radius assuming dispersion is randomly distributed in direction as well as that the x and y dispersions are equally distributed (no positive compensation causing different vertical dispersion etc.).

So, that brings me to my point. I found that I can get access to the x and y points in OnTarget TDS (https://ontargetshooting.com/ontarget-tds/) and in Taran (https://taran.ptosis.ch/taran.html) to run the statistics.