338-378 weatherby

enigma

I'm just getting into reloading what have people found to be the best powder to use in this gun /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif?I will be reloading 200gr BST bullets.I'm thinking of useing imr 7828 powder.

I would try the following powders;
RL 22
H1000
RETUMBO

Good luck with your load work up. The 338-378 is one serious round. Can you give us the specs of your rifle and what you will be doing with her. I know one thing you will be using her for and that is shooting very very far. Have fun!!!

Wildcat

enigma

My bro has an accumark that does really well with 225 gr. accubonds and a healthy dose of 7828...I believe about 109.0 grs.

Just thought you might want to know...he had some 200 BT's but didn't have much luck with them.

I'm using the Barnes top book load on their 225 TSX bullet. 115 grains of RL-25 goes 3300+ and is grouping 3 shots cutting if I let it cool before the 3rd shot is taken. 7828 might work with the lighter bullet. On the 225's the ES was all over the place with 7828.

Get a box of 300Mk bullets, use Retumbo powder(99.0grns, your gun maybe different start lower), push them around 2750fps. I had a friend that used the 200BT, they shoot good, but not at long ranges. It took much arm twisting to get him to try the Sierra 300MK bullets. After testing the loads and clover leaf groups at 500yds he never looked back. The following year on a elk hunt in Wyo, he took a very nice 6x6 at 575yds, one shot, the elk walked 30 yards and that was that.

Dave

[ QUOTE ]