270WSM Handloads

MontanaJack

HELP! I'm struggling to find a tack driving load for the 270WSM. I'm thinking the 270 Win was just fine. I've tried numerous loads with numerous powders but can't get to sub minute accuracy with a 270 WSM custom rifle. The Leopold scope and mounts are not the issue. The old 270 Win treated me much better. I've been shooting and handloading for many years and can still shoot one hole groups with my precision rifles. This project has really soured me on the WSM concept, at least for the 270.

Like Earnhardts question line.

Brass wrapper doesn't usually have a massive factor in accuracy. I've had 3 270 wsm barrels to load for over the decade and while it's a little overbore it's not terrible to load for. Give some bullet specifics and we'll try and point you in the right path.

HELP! I'm struggling to find a tack driving load for the 270WSM. I'm thinking the 270 Win was just fine. I've tried numerous loads with numerous powders but can't get to sub minute accuracy with a 270 WSM custom rifle. The Leopold scope and mounts are not the issue. The old 270 Win treated me much better. I've been shooting and handloading for many years and can still shoot one hole groups with my precision rifles. This project has really soured me on the WSM concept, at least for the 270.
How do you know the scope and mounts are not an issue? Any time I struggle to get a gun to shoot, that's the first thing I check.
I learned that trying to get a Ruger tang safety .270 to shoot.

Like Earnhardts question line.

Brass wrapper doesn't usually have a massive factor in accuracy. I've had 3 270 wsm barrels to load for over the decade and while it's a little overbore it's not terrible to load for. Give some bullet specifics and we'll try and point you in the right path.
I just ordered a box of Berger 150 gr VLD BULLETS to try in the 270WSM. I'm not committed to any brand. I would like to stay in the 130 to 150 gr weight range. Thank you.