110gr .308 round?

cap06040

I have just recently been told about a 110gr round for .308 and was wondering about it reliability. I am also fairly new to the shooting world but I have a good basic knowledge of the sport.
For such a small bullet projectile it would seem to me that it might not be very stable when pushed through a 1/12 twist. I have been reading and asking around about it because I am looking for something I can use with my .308 and still be able to take coyotes and other smaller game. People have said it was a great round and they love using it but when I go to a store to buy some the dealers say that nobody sells them because they are not a very good round, that they are unstable and don't shoot very well.
Thank you for any response and input anyone may have on the subject.

- C.J. -

The only 110gr i have seen is a hp by Sierra, all I use it for is to fire from my brass. It seemed to group fine at 100y but beyond that i would not know how it fly's.

I've shot the 110 gr Sierra HP out to 200 yards with my Tikka 300 WSM and they shoot MOA. Not a match bullet mind you but I figure they will do a job on prairie dogs.

Tried the 110 a long time ago, didn't get the results i wanted. I have used the Hornady 130 GR sp for 30 years in two different 30-06 rifles both 1-12 twist. Chronograph has them at 3200 for the load I use. When I do my part 1 in ragged holes at 100 yds. Have shot them past 300 yds for groundhogs and yotes , always had good performance.

I have a purpose built 308 with an 17 twist brux barrel that I shoot only the 110 v-max bullets in. H4895 gives me 3450 fps in a 26" barrel. from 100 yard zero it drops 4 moa at 400 yards.

Accuracy is a 100 yard ragged hole. With a mini muscle brake it kiks like a 22 mag, may-be a 22 hornet.