What bipod for hunting???

I realize this is an old thread but came across it searching for tall bipod options. Has anyone used both the MDT CKYE triple pull and the Hatch 36"? Is there anything about the CKYE triple pull that makes it worth more than double the Hatch? Are there any other tall options beside those 2? Shot my first NRL hunter match this weekend and was at a huge disadvantage with my current bipod. I have a tripod but hard to get stable enough on it for the long shots.
CKYE pod is by far the most adjustable, and versatile bipod on the market. I've never seen a Hatch in person, looks like it'd be decent but probably not as easy to adjust as the Ckye Pod

I have no experience with the Ckye but I've used the Hatch 27" for the last couple years. If you take it out and practice with it you can set it up for a shot really fast. It weighs about 19oz so it's not super light, if I'm walking and stalking I have it attached to my belt, I don't like carrying the extra weight at the end of my rifle and it only takes me seconds to attach it to the gun if I need it (see post #65). I added a Seekins picatinny rail that I use as an attachment point for the bipod on my .308 and just added a Wiser Precision picatinny rail to the front of my CZ 457 American that fit perfectly between the checkering and end of the walnut stock fore end. I use the Hatch on this rifle to get me above the tall grass in a couple places where I hunt ground squirrels. I've had no problems with the Hatch so far and I'd buy it again.

IMG_9320.jpeg

Last edited: