What barrel vise & action wrench(es) do you use?

Mike D Texas

I'm wanting to buy a barrel vise and action wrench(es) to be able to do more of my own work.

I've been looking at the Short Action Customs modular barrel vise kit and their modular wrench but like all their stuff it's pricey. The wrench is a great concept if you have several styles of actions though (which I do). I have the following actions:

1. Factory Remington 700
  2. Stiller TAC300
  3. Kelbly's Atlas Tactical
  4. Borden Bigfoot
  5. Pierce Engineering SkeleTi
All of them are 700 pattern actions but there must be slight differences because SAC says I need (3) different heads for their wrench to work with all of the above.

What do you use for multiple actions?

I have been using one I made for 20 years but I just recently bought the Speartoolandmachine barrel vice. Very well made and a well thought out design. Very well packed, The upper bushing is held in with a machine screw so you don't have to fight that. Here are some pics of when I un-boxed it. I don't think you can beat it for $130.00 and each additional bushing is $30.00 for the straight ones and $38.00 for the tapered ones and they should last you a lifetime.

I was told about this vice from another LRH member, I looked into it and for the money I don't think you can beat it. They also make a very nice Remington 700 Action Wrench, They make make others too, Very reasonably priced. I literally just got this a few days ago and haven't used it yet, But I just finished chambering a barrel yesterday and will be using it today.

Attachments

• DSCN4208.JPG
    DSCN4208.JPG
    686.2 KB · Views: 148
  • DSCN4209.JPG
    DSCN4209.JPG
    840.7 KB · Views: 150
  • DSCN4207.JPG
    DSCN4207.JPG
    630.1 KB · Views: 151
  • DSCN4206.JPG
    DSCN4206.JPG
    809.4 KB · Views: 148
Last edited:

I forgot to add, It ships by default with a 1.200 bushing.

Here is their action wrench: