Point systems

Backcountry_IDN

Hey guys,

So ive looked on their websites, searched through this forum (maybe i missed it)....

Help me understand the point systems in Oregon, Utah, Montana, Colorado, and Arizona.

I'm in Idaho. I understand the Wyoming point system. But I'm looking at buying preferemce points and just preference for the next so often in order to get into some great tags.

Honestly, this isnt just for Elk, I just didnt know where else to post it.

Help me understand. Ive tried looking at Utah and Oregon's sites and still dont understand.

Mainly asking, can I just make a profile without buying a license and just buy preference points as of right now.

Thank you and I apologize for my ignorance.

I appreciate it. Thanks
Message_1540256920856.jpg

I'm not a expert, but I can speak to CO a little bit.... related to elk ( I think deer is the same). When you apply in the spring (early Apr deadline), you make your hunt selections (1st choice, 2nd choice,...) if you don't get drawn you get a Preference Point (Point) for that year. You also have the option to make your 1st choice as a Point to use later, then make your other selections (2nd choice, 3rd...)

If you hunted in the CO the prior year, they do not charge you for the Point, if didn't hunt CO the prior yr they charge you $40 for the point. The spring application is the only opportunity to purchase a Point in CO.

I hope that helps some.

I'm not a expert, but I can speak to CO a little bit.... related to elk ( I think deer is the same). When you apply in the spring (early Apr deadline), you make your hunt selections (1st choice, 2nd choice,...) if you don't get drawn you get a Preference Point (Point) for that year. You also have the option to make your 1st choice as a Point to use later, then make your other selections (2nd choice, 3rd...)