Mounting my scope?

MaverickMa

I am new to LR hunting and am mounting a 4-16 Schmidt Bender with a 30mm tube on a Rem 700 Sendero in 7mm STW. My question is should I go with the Luepold Mark 4 bases, Dual dovetail or the Standard bases from luepold. Also, should I go with a 1 piece or 2 piece base and what are the advantages gonna be between all of these different setups? Thanks guys in advance, I am a newbie to any shooting over 400 yards and want to do it right the 1st time..

The mark 4 should be stiffer and compatible with other base brands; a one piece base is also stiffer compared to a 2 piece.-

depending on how far you plan to shoot you may be interested in a canted base, adding some elevation.

Take a look at Seekins precision products.-you may like them.

The longest shots would be a 1000 yards. Our local range just expanded from 700 to a 1000. I dont know if I would have enough elevation in the scope or not, it does have a 30mm tube. I think that gives you more elevation, right. I have also thought of just going with Dual Dovetail Luepold mounts. Any thoughts?

I wouldn't use anyones dovetail mounts. Over time, especially with mounting and remounting I have found they will have a tendency to loosen. That's why I have changed all the bases and rings on my rifles. The sturdier the better.
db

If I go with the badger bases with a added 20moa, will I be able to have a 100 yard zero or will I run out of room and bottom out and always be high at a 100 yards? Excuse me if it sounds ignorant wanting a 100 yard zero just wondering if it would still be posssible?

do you have your scope´s info??? I do have some at home. will check and tell you.

If your scope elevation range is small, you will either need to shoot high at 100 or you wont be able to zero at 1000.

I'll give you my idea about your question, not sure it solves anything: