Kelbly’s Nanook/Prometheus, Lone Peak, Impact NBK, or Terminus Kratos

Chase723

Going to be building a 7PRC. Looking for people with experiences with these actions. Unfortunately, I don't have access to a place or people where I can go get a feel of these first hand so I'm reaching out to our great LRH community.

I used to have an Atlas Tactical which seemed great, but want something a little stiffer. I have extensive experience with DLC coated Big Horn TL3s. While after 1-2K rounds they cycle ridiculously smooth most of the time, sometimes they'll want to bind at the rear just a little…I'm wanting to avoid that completely. I realize that these actions all have slightly different features, non of these are CRF, that the Kelbly's have a mechanical ejector instead of a spring type, and the Terminus is 60 deg throw, etc. I'm impartial to all of that. They all are a Rem700 footprint, have prefits available, accept TriggerTech triggers, bolt lift/close are totally acceptable, and make for very accurate rifles. I'm just looking for the action that doesn't bind at all with those same traits. I'm not 100% opposed to getting another TL3 but from everything I can gather these actions are better in that capacity. @lancetkenyon from reading around it seems like you have some experience with Kelbly's and Lone Peak. Feel free to tag anyone else who might be able to offer legitimate insight/experience to the conversation.

Thanks,

Chase

I specifically switched to Impact away from others because the two SA I have have worked flawless. Picked up a 787 LA to have all my bases covered. I don't see myself buying anything besides Impact.

If you like the Atlas Tac, the Prometheus is just as smooth, but has added stiffness in the action with the full Picatinny rail milled in and the offside is fully enclosed.
I think a long bolt handle adds to binding. Putting leverage out away from the bolt body does not lend to smooth bolt manipulation and induces side loading onto the bolt.