Help me choose: 6 or 6.5 Creedmoor

aaatkr

Looking for a PVA John Hancock rifle in one of these two calibers. The rifle will be used primarily for informal target shooting from 100 to 600 yards, possibly a bit longer if I can get on my friends property. Primary use would be targets, occasional hunting. I like the fact the 6 has less recoil compared to the 6.5 and is a bit faster. I do not reload at this stage of the game. The availability of factory ammunition is greater for the 6.5 and barrel life seems to be 30 to 50 percent longer. Not a fan of the increased recoil though. If I shot 120 grain bullets with a brake would that tame recoil down to that of a 6mm with 105 hybrids( the round I would likely shoot with the 6mm) or would I be sacrificing some accuracy compared with the 140 Bergers more commonly used in the 6.5. The 6.5 is more adaptable to hunt with should I go in that direction. I have no experience with either caliber only owning .243 , 30-06 and rimfires. Should I go with the 6 and rebarrel as needed? I welcome your opinions. Thanks. The rifle will weigh 10 1/2 to 11 pounds complete. How does recoil compare to a .243 Win shooting 1oo grain factory loads. Sorry if you've read this post before. I posted this on a couple of other sites. I just wanted as much info as I could get. Thanks.

I have a 6.5x47 (no brake) that weights about what yours will weigh and shoots 123's. Almost identical to 6.5 Creed. To me, it's a kitten to shoot and a brake would really reduce the already tame recoil. Most of the PRS guys have gone to some form of hot rod 6mm, no doubt because they score better but also no doubt, they switch out barrels sooner.