First 7mmSTW and Accubond Long Range Bullets

drakehammer

Hello everyone. I believe this is my first post on the LRH forum but I've been using this site as a reference source for a couple of years. I thoroughly enjoy the threads.

Not to beat a dead horse, but I would like the final word, if there is such a thing, on Accubond Long Range Bullets for the 7mmSTW. Tomorrow I'm driving to Memphis to pick up a couple of new rifle builds, one of which is my first 7mmSTW. I started this process in February, and it's finally time to see the finished product. I too have been lured in by the high BC's advertised on the ABLR's. So I now have on hand plenty of 168's and 150's in the 7mm ABLR flavor. But I'm a little concerned about the reviews that I've read, here and elsewhere. I am not new to reloading, but I would rather not waste a lot of time and barrel life chasing a load for a bullet that will only result in mediocre accuracy and precision at less than stellar velocities. I would rather send these bullets to the grave and use something easier and more forgiving to tune if necessary (I'm still kind of a fan of the old school SGKs). So I'm looking for your experiences with the 150 and 168 grain Accubond Long Range bullets out of your 7mmSTWs. Yes I want blistering speed, as it was a driver in my decision to build the STW. But if reduced speeds are better for the ABLR bullets, I can certainly develop loads for my old factory 7mm Rem Mag or my 7mm08 (another new build that I'm picking up tomorrow as well) using the ABLR's.

My 7mmSTW is a hunter not a target rifle, but I fully expect 3/4 MOA or better. It is built on a Rem 700 donor action with a 26" heavy sporter contour 9 twist Brux 4 groove barrel, bedded HS precision stock, 2# Jewell trigger, and Leupold LR 6-20x40 scope.
Any input on the bullets is appreciated. Feel free to tell me what components work well in your rifles too.
Thanks
Jesse