DeLorme inreach

sp260

Any experience or opinions on this unit for navigation and communication?
Thanks Tim

I recently bought the InReach SE, but I have no experience with it yet. Based on most of the reviews that I have read (very many), it is a great tool for communication. For navigation, most reviews led me to believe it doesn't compare to a dedicated gps, like a Garmin I got mine strictly for communication, since the SE doesn't have the gps navigation feature.

Hope this helps. Good luck.

Any experience or opinions on this unit for navigation and communication?
Thanks Tim

I had the same question about GPS, and asked Steve West of Steve Outdoors Adventures. Here is what he said.

"I am a big Garmin fan if it's just GPS but really anymore I carry my DeLorme inReach Explorer with two way satellite messaging and gps! "

He is not only a TV personality but has given me great advice in the past.

lightbulb.

I use the InReach Explorer and really like it. Combines satellite text messaging and GPS in one unit. Pairs easily with my cell phone app, and you can download satellite imagery for free to the app of anywhere you plan on going.

I've heard complaints of the gps features not being as powerful as a dedicated unit, and that may be true... But I've never seen the point of anybody needing all the features of the fancy GPS units. I'm out there to hunt, not stare at an electronic device. The explorer already does more than I need. I just want something to set waypoints and tell me how to get to any of those waypoints and how far away they are as well as have some sort of base-map of where I'm hunting to show trails. The explorer nails that.