Colt question

Oldschool280

Hello, does anybody know why the colt anaconda's are going for 3 grand? And the smith and wessons 686,629 are $1000 or less? I have little pistol experience and am hoping to change that. I was thinking of a nice sidearm for the field in 44 or 357. Black bear or feral hog being the largest expected encounter. Any input would be greatly appreciated

Re: Colt questio

Hello, does anybody know why the colt anaconda's are going for 3 grand? And the smith and wessons 686,629 are $1000 or less? I have little pistol experience and am hoping to change that. I was thinking of a nice sidearm for the field in 44 or 357. Black bear or feral hog being the largest expected encounter. Any input would be greatly appreciated

Market demand from collectors........the Python is going for 2=3x that amount!

You can go wrong with the S&W. IMO it's as good, if not better design then the Colt revolvers. I would opt for at least a 44 Mag for what you want.

Like Greyfox said collectors are buying them up I just sold a Colt King Cobra that i bought new for $430 in 97 for $1550. Luckily at that time the Colt was cheaper than the Smith 686 that I really wanted.

Custom Shop, produced only. That was years a go.gun)

Produced in the custom shop only. That is why the single action army goes for a mint.

avoid the collector items if it's going to be a field carry. get a nice used Ruger super redhawk 44mag and never worry about carrying a $3000 field gun. I have had a couple super redhawks and they're accurate, dependable and reasonably priced. Or even a regular redhawk with the 4" barrel, that would make a dandy field carry gun

Yep collector firearms are $$$. I suggest also that you get a S&W or Ruger 44 mag or 454. In the words of Bob Milek "if you plan on taking a 357 mag bear hunting take plenty of Vaseline." Bear pistols start with the number 4 in the caliber.