Brake drum hibachi

made a hibachi today from a brake drum off a monte carlo i found down an old logging road.

its working great

i was shopping for a BBQ/smoker at home depot, i want one of those big mean ones made from a barrel, but i made this hibachi instead and im very pleased

grilling up mackeral and red potatoes.

hope someone outbthere appeeciates a good little hibachi for free made from thick iron.

im a mechanic/cook/blacksmith so im mot worried about potential automotive pollutants, ive got enough bad stuff im breathing in everyday, but im pretty sure i cleaned out any brake dust and oils

599A9AD2-DB13-4A3D-B56F-0005AF838951.jpeg
9B33AB9A-6E4E-465C-8C49-F9BE1C5AAC24.jpeg

im a mechanic/cook/blacksmith so im mot worried about potential automotive pollutants, ive got enough bad stuff im breathing in everyday, but im pretty sure i cleaned out any brake dust and oils

I'm sure you could run over it with a sand blaster if you were really wanting to get it clean.

How big a fish can I grill over a 15" drum off of a Pete? :D

I'm gonna rig up the brake drum into a rocket stove wood fired forge using local volcanic stone, then I can forge high carbon blades while grilling, and tenderize meat with my hammer and anvil, but I'm not going to tell anyone that when I sell them a knife....

Anyone want a custom blade?

Take a look at the Weber Smokey Mountain for smoker ideas. Been using one for over 15 years (18 inch). I take real good care of it.

The bottom vents are used to control heat, keep that in mind when you build a smoker. Top vent is always wide open.

A little late but going to smoke the Easter ham tomorrow. I will stick a Polder probe in ham with cord, measuring unit outside smoker on a little stand. I won't open smoker until ham at final temp.

Weber has a website, it's like a cult thing.

http://www.virtualweberbullet.com/tipsfaq.html

Last edited: