A few reloading questions...

Inky Doc

I am new to reloading and have some questions that I can't find answers to. When you reply I would greatly appreciate you numbering your responses as I did the questions. I have autism and things get very muddled when specificity is assumed. Naturally, if you only have one or two responses that would be very welcome too.

1- Why start hand loading with the lowest powder charge? It makes sense not to start at the top, but I fail to understand why you wouldn't start somewhere in between.

2- What is the difference between a primer pocket swager and primer pocket cleaner?

3- If fast twist rates are needed to stabilize heavier bullets, why are there slower twist rates? Does firing lighter bullets through faster twist rates shorten barrel life?

4- In one reloading manual I'm reading it states that full-length resizing isn't always necessary if the cartridge is being fired out of the same rifle and that neck-only resizing will do. Any explanations please?

5- I'm sure there are 50 different answers, but what brass manufacturers do you feel are better, brass last longer, etc.? If it matters, I will be reloading a .243 and 6.5CM.

Not really a reloading question but..

6- Is there any number associated with the rounds needed to wear out a firing pin?10,000? 50,000?

Thank you to all. I have learned a great deal from reading other threads on here. I truly appreciate the wisdom.

Hey there!

Response to Question#5

I also load for .243 and I only shoot Lapua brass for that cartridge. It's well worth the price paid for it. Look into getting some for your .243 and 6.5CM. You'll love the stuff!

1- Why start hand loading with the lowest powder charge? It makes sense not to start at the top, but I fail to understand why you wouldn't start somewhere in between.