6 Dasher Build

rcompart

I am starting to put together my 6 Dasher setup that I've been dreaming about for a few years now and I'm running into some issues with the stock and barrel choices. What I've nailed down so far with my build is the BAT Hammerhead with a TriggerTech Diamond (still waffling between the traditional vs pro curve) and a Leupold Mk5HD I'm planning on pulling off my M95.

I keep getting hung up on barrel life and round count before things start opening up between the various barrels. I'm not planning on competing at this point but I'd hate to find out that I could have doubled the number of rounds I get from barrel X after I've already bought something else. I'm in Illinois so no suppressors unfortunately but muzzle brakes are ok so long as they don't hide muzzle flash.

Another thing I need to figure out is the stock. I'm really bummed as I fell in love with the MDT Timbr Frontier stock but they are discontinued and I can't find one anywhere. Any one find something else that's comparable to the look and features?

I'll take all the advice I can get from those of you that are avid with this platform. Thanks and be safe!

I compete in PRS with a 6 Dasher. First rifle barrel was Krieger - pulled at 2400 rounds still going strong. Second barrel Proof prefit - just pulled at 2400 rounds going strong - replaced with another Proof prefit (lots of value for me). At end of PRS season, will put the Proof 2400 round count barrel back on run it for a few months in practice. Had good luck with Rock Creek in a previous 6.5 Creedmoor.

The point is my observation is a quality barrel will last approximately the same as the most expensive barrel. Bartlein offers an "extended barrel life" blank but at a premium - jury seems out on that still. I am sticking with Proof prefits in 6 Dasher for PRS competition.

Stocks and chassis are VERY subjective. You will have to be more specific on what features you want for your rifle.

I love Dasher - have fun!