6.5 creedmoor for elk

colohunter

Apologies if this has been asked but I have a line on a Cooper in 6.5 cm and mostly hunt elk. I know the 260 rem is sufficient so the 6.5 should be fine too, right? Thanks much for any help as I'm new to anything other than 308 and 30.06

You aren't wasting anyone's time. That's what we're here for.

It's not as much a matter of caliber as it is putting the shot in the right spot.

If you are trying to punch the shoulders for a high shoulder/spine shot at 600+ I'd say go much bigger.

If you are patent enough to ensure you always get the bullet in the heart/lungs and limit yourself to 600yds or less then I'd say without question it's enough gun for the job.

Putting it in the right spot is what matters most.

Killed a spike elk last week at 950 with my 6.5x47 running the Matrix 142 VLD at 2917 fps. Quartering to, hit him just in front of the shoulder, angling into his chest cavity. Took a few seconds before I even saw a reaction. It was late and cold so no autopsy.

Alan

WildRose,

Your reply was one of the best replies I have ever read on any forum. If young hunters understood the valuable concepts that you have conveyed, cartridge selection for them would be a whole lot easier.

I love cartridge debates as much as anyone. But when a hunter tries to tell me that a .300 Wby Mag will kill elk deader than a .308 Win, I bow out. No elk knows whether a .308 Win or a .300 Wby Mag stopped its heart from pumping oxygenated blood. After all, dead is dead, and you can't get any deader than dead.

I plan to take my 6.5 creed moor with me to Montana this fall, I really want shoot an elk with it, but I have much more confidence in my 30.06 as I have shot many deer with it, and always seem to reach for it when walking out the door. I hope to break that habit this fall as I know the creed moor is very capable.