What does it take to make your rifle group well?

Longerangerookie

Hi,
Well let me get started. I have a new Remington 700 sendero, 7mm Ultra Mag, 9 1/2" twist, 26" barrel. I have the one peice long range mount and when leopold scopes were on sale I got the VX-III 8.5-25x50. I also had a muzzle brake put on. With the bull barrel and muzzle brake, the recoil is not an issue. I have put only 35 rounds through it. Custom reload. Remington brass, CCi br2 primers, H50BMG powder, 180gr Berger VLD bullets moly coated. Berger load data says to start at 90grs of powder and stop at 95 where my velocity will be just over 3000fps. Well it is a bit lower. My velocities are very consistant. 2880-2861 at 95grs of powder. The problem is I haven't been able to group. First, I started shooting one shot a day(yup, one shot a day). Then I started with three shots, going up and down the powder scale. I know after the 16th shot it really started to break in. How can I get a better group(at least the bullet holes tuching at 100 yards)? Should I switch to a different powder? I don't really want to change bullets. What would happen if I went higher in powder to bring my velociy up to the recommendations?

When I did my load devolpment for my 204 i started out with about 25 rounds
I load 5 rounds in .5 grn increments from min to max at at book stated coal for bullet. Then I take the best load from that group, load 10 more rounds at that powder charge to verafy it wasn't a freak group. Then I load about 30 rounds moveing up and down from this stated powder charge by .2 grn. Once I find my best powder charge I play with my coal starting .020-.030 of the lands and working into the lands in .005 increments to avoid sudden pressure changes. I do this all wile keeping my brass prep and componits the same.
Hope this helps Zach