SFP scope mapping?

Vamike9

I am somewhat new to long range precision but want to know if a SFP scope would really hurt my performance in tactical comps? I realize that it depends on many factors like scope mapping, ballistic calculators, and other things. Yet, my main question is, with all the tools we as long range shooters employ, would a SFP scope really matter? For years snipers have used SFP scopes to great effect, right? Aren't most long shots taken with the magnification on high, where a SFP scopes subtentions are correct anyways? Also doesn't Applied Ballistics calculator take SFP scopes subtentions into account? How do I map my scope properly? Sorry for all the questions but I hope this discussion will be helpful to many others as well.