Setting Up For The Long Range Shot, by Shawn Carlock

Len Backus

Administrator
Staff member
This is a thread for discussion of the article, Setting Up The Long Range Shot, by Shawn Carlock. Here you can ask questions or make comments about the article.

The author will have this thread automatically notify him of posts so that he can join the discussion.

Last edited:
Setting up

Shawn,
Your article was very helpful and informative. I am still new to all of this and reading your story really gave me some insight. I do have a question reguarding the wind meter however. Now we all know that the wind is going to be different from where you set up versus what its doing at target distance. Is the reading that is taken just used as a gauge for drift out at the target or do you set up for drift with the by use of the Pc with the reading as a plugin for the formula?

Bronco,

I use the wind meter as a given to compare to. If I am reading a 7 mph wind where I am standing looking across a canyon and the trees brush and grass are giving the same indicators on the opposite slope it is reasonable to assume that it is 7 mph or so on the other side. I do how ever know from experience that the wind speed in the middle of the canyon will be higher so I'll probably shoot it for 10 mph. The wind meter just gives me a place to start. No matter what you have at your disposal for equipment windage is still going to be your best guess.

Shawn:

Great writing. These types of articles, written by guys with vast knowledge like you and the others, are going to be a fantastic data base of information for people coming into this sport. As you know, people first starting out, have a lot of questions and usually don't know where or how to get them answered. If they'll just read the articles on the home page they will gain so much info in a very shot period of time that they'll be light years ahead of where they would be if they just tried to learn it on their own.