• Sako Extractor

Votes: 11 50.0%
  • M16 Extractor

Votes: 9 40.9%

• Total voters

therichardpowell

Hey folks.

First post here.

I have a very old Remington 721 30-06 that my Dad used to use as a hunting rifle for the past half a century until he handed it down to me. I have since taken at least ten elk and and countless deer and antelope with it. It is the only rifle I have ever taken an elk with and it means alot to me to continue using it.

That being said, it has issues that seem to be popping up. It is pretty well shot out. I have never measured it but it is probably shooting about 3 moa at 100 yds. I am completely ready and willing to rebarrel this rifle. I am planning to swap in a Bergara barrel soon (I have never done a barrel swap before but am really excited to be able to do it myself, thats why I chose Bergara).

My other issue and my main question. I have had extractor issues with this rifle ever since I got it. I have replaced the extractor twice (and they are about impossible to find) and had a gunsmith replace the second one for me. It is still not reliable. If you pull the bolt out in just the right manner it extracts fine. If you go to slow or the bolt hangs at all it drops the case in the magazine chamber. I shot at a deer last weekend and botched the wind and missed. I cycled the bolt for the follow up shot and ofcourse, the extraction failed and it jammed. I managed to clear it and drop the deer, but I am sick of this situation.

The extractor is different than the 700 extractor, and the 700 extractor doesn't work in my bolt.

So I have reached a cross roads. I could buy a factory remington 700 bolt in my caliber or since I am rebarreling, step up to a mag bolt face and build a 300 win mag. Or I can trust someone to install a Sako or M16 extractor on my existing bolt.

I like the idea of the 300 win mag, but I also like the nostalgia of my Dads ol' ought six.

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance.