Reverse Engineering a ballistic program.

Jeff In TX

In my real life job, I'm an engineer. I don't like to accept almost or close enough when it comes to results. I'm anal about results and I strive to achieve exact results and once I dig into something it's hard to let go. Sometimes my quest to achieve exact results takes unconventional methods.

I've owned many ballistic programs over the years, most of them ya'll swear by. Most in my opinion are border line adequate at best for long range calculation and estimation. I learned a lot of the ballistic formulas and even tried my hand at reworking Dave Kings excel program he sent me many years ago. But in the end I couldn't get them to match my actual shooting data. Four years ago I set out on a quest to map my .308 actual data to my ballistic program or at least get as close as possible.

You can agree or disagree with me on this, but in the end I accomplished what I set out to do and in the process learned a bunch.

First if you're using the published G1 BC from the bullet manufacture and program running the G1 drag model, you're gonna waste a lot of time and effort trying to do this.

The G1 drag model is based on a 100+ year-old calculation using a 1 inch 1 pound round nose projectile as its basis. So what the bullet manufactures are really saying is…. any type of bullet regardless of shape can be calculated using the same mathematical model. This is total BS. Last time I looked a VLD bullet is more aerodynamic than a flat based bullet.

Those are the real issues I see when it comes to BC. Boat tail bullets us a G5 drag model and VLD bullets use a G7 drag model. Both drag models have a lower BC both totally different calculations for determining the bullets exterior ballistic tables.

Okay let's get started. When I say I reversed engineered my ballistic program, what I'm really saying is I found the proper input data and messaged it a bit to get my exact results.