MOA Expectations as Distance Increases

Song Dogger

Somewhat of a newbie here. I understand the definition of MOA - 1/60th of a degree, or approximately 1" at 100 yds, 2" at 200 yds, and so on. So, in theory, if I shoot sub 1" groups at 100 yds, I should be able to shoot 5" groups at 500 yds. Yet, in reality, my precision decreases with distance. I might get sub MOA at 100 yds, 1 MOA at 200 yds, 1.2 MOA at 300 yards, which might mean exceeding 2 MOA at 1000 yds.

At longer distances, the target shrinks but the crosshairs don't. I see more distorting "heatwaves", and parallax can become more of a factor. The longer a bullet is in the air, the more time it can be inconsistently affected by the environment/wind or allow bullet or barrel imperfections to show. And so on...

Maybe I'm making excuses or even stating the obvious. But, in my research, there's a definite perception that I should hit a 10" plate at 1000 yds if I shoot sub MOA at 100 yds. So, before I try this and drive myself nuts, is it reasonable to expect the same MOA precision at all distances for a weekend shooter like me?

You are on the right track.
Load,
Barrel harmonics
Bullet yaw
All have a affect on group deviation.
And we haven't even talked about shooter and environmental effects.
Then there is parallax, ammo temp, bullet run out, etc.
The plan is try to be as consistent with these factors, eliminate and or account for them.

Somewhat of a newbie here. I understand the definition of MOA - 1/60th of a degree, or approximately 1" at 100 yds, 2" at 200 yds, and so on. So, in theory, if I shoot sub 1" groups at 100 yds, I should be able to shoot 5" groups at 500 yds. Yet, in reality, my precision decreases with distance. I might get sub MOA at 100 yds, 1 MOA at 200 yds, 1.2 MOA at 300 yards, which might mean exceeding 2 MOA at 1000 yds.