Introductions, lots of new folks here nowadays

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave King

I thought it might be time for another go-around of introductions. We have a lot of new members and I'm getting curious.

I'll start:

Dave King
retired U. S. Navy but still working.
I'm 51 y/o but that'll change next year, I'm grey haired and somewhat grumpy. I like food and don't care too much for hard manual labor work. I'm a computer geek by trade and have a few quirks (occupational requirement).

I like to shoot long range, both target and hunting. My hunting limit is 650 yards on big game animals but varmints are not so lucky.

I've been married right at 31 years (yes, all to the same woman) and have two grown children. My son is in the U. S. Army and my daughter works for the federal government (civil service).

I mainly shoot 308 Winchester in "tactical" style rifles, I like the durability of the rifles built for hard use. I have a few other "odd" rifles around, a 375 H&H "The Monkey Blaster" (named by Ian McMurchy) and my latest (mis)adventure is a 416 Rigby perhaps to be labeled "The Retina Detacher".

I mainly hunt whitetail deer and have been known to hunt black bear, moose ("eater of twigs") and elk (wapati).

I do some reloading but mainly shoot Federal Gold Medal Match ammo through my 308's. I do reload for the 416 Rigby, at $120 USD per factory 20 it's a lot less expensive to reload for it.

The names John in case no one guessed it (I used to go by the name Jaeger476 on this forum but I forgot the password and couldn't manage to get the new one working). /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif I am married with one daughter, I live and work in Northern Alberta currently as a safety officer on the construction industry.

I am 29 years old with a short military background. I used to compete and train others in traditional archery and long range marksmanship. Haven't done much training of others lately, as I barely have enough time to improve on my own skills.